Home > religion > A Different Fantasy

A Different Fantasy

This morning I was visited by a couple of religious nuts (two “old grannies” as it happens) who presented me with some church propaganda. I didn’t get a chance to talk to them, but if I had, I would have destroyed their silly beliefs with a dazzling display of religious and scientific knowledge, flawless logic, and pure intellect… well, at least that’s the way I would see it!

Some people are critical of me when I argue with apparently kind religious types but why shouldn’t I? They are the ones who have visited me and attempted to convert me to their childish and sick vision of reality. And it’s not surprising when I don’t just believe everything they say and point out where they are wrong that they can get just a little bit nasty. And when I demonstrate a greater knowledge of their religion that what they do they generally retreat and never return!

So these people may seem superficially to be well-meaning but they aren’t really. If they were members of a political party trying to gather new members would we be as generous? I don’t think so. And what’s the difference? There is none that I can see.

But to get back to the subject at hand. These people were from the Jehovah’s Witless [deliberate typo] Church and they were distributing a pamphlet titled “Will suffering ever end?”. My initial reaction might be “yes, when people like you go away and leave the rest of us alone” but that is rather trite so I should look at the subject more seriously.

The material they left contained a whole bunch of rather loosely translated Bible quotes, as if quoting from the Bible would convince anyone who wasn’t already hooked into that particular fantasy world! I mean really, if I quoted Darwin would they just automatically believe me? Can’t they see that many of us think the Bible is little more than a book of sometimes amusing, sometimes interesting, and sometimes disturbing myths? And quoting Bible verses to prove that the Bible is true seems rather circular.

The general message of the pamphlet seemed to be that God doesn’t like all the bad things which are happening but they’re not his fault. And things will get better in the future and he “will wipe away all tears from their eyes, and there will be no more death, suffering, crying, or pain” (that also sounds like the unsubstantiated rhetoric we get from some political parties).

I always thought the bad things were because of the free will God gave us. Does that mean in order to make things better we need to give up free will? And if God can make things so much better in the future why has he waited so long? Oddly enough those issues aren’t discussed at all except to refer to some Bible verses (Romans 5:12 and 2 Peter 3:9) which contain the usual meaningless drivel.

Naturally, when you look at it logically, none of this makes sense, just like the story line of any other fairy tale doesn’t make sense. Next time the JWs visit I’ll just say I’m reading a different fantasy story at the moment, maybe I’ll re-read some Tolkien like the Lord of the Rings or the Silmarillion (actually, not the Silmarillion, because it’s even more boring than the Bible!)

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

