Home > computers > Off to a Good Start!

Off to a Good Start!

Well 2014 is off to a good start for me… not! My main web server has become rather unstable and crashes randomly, and this has resulted in a corrupted hard disk which in turn resulted in a corrupted clone. Although the services are now running from the clone on a second machine, I do have some limitations and things are running and at a slower speed.

If you read this blog on my main server (ojb.co.nz) you might have noticed some periods of down time and slow access recently. This might continue for another day or two.

I do have another backup (notice how IT pros always have more than one backup) which keeps multiple copies of files, including versions from before the corruption, so it is fully intact, but I would need to reconstruct the server from this by moving files, setting privileges, etc, which is a fairly significant job.

You might think this contradicts my common assertion that Macs are really reliable. Well it does to some extent I guess, but I do have to say that the last time this server was booted (for an update, not a problem) was 6 months ago and it has performed perfectly for years. Also, it is an old machine I scavenged from the recycling for nothing with just 2.5G of RAM, so I think it has done fairly well.

Unfortunately machines of this vintage have a common fault involving the main board becoming unreliable due to oxidation of solder joints and I guess that’s what has happened to my server. So to be safe I’ll just put a new server in but swapping everything over with minimum down-time is the difficult part of the process.

Still, I was wondering what I would do this weekend. Now I guess I know!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

